Blogmas Day 5! 🎄

December is a busy month with all those Christmas parties to attend so I thought I would do this blog early on. Today we are talking about decluttering.

I’m very much into the out with the old and in with the new at this time of the year. What better way to start a new year more refreshed and bright-eyed to start a new year than to get cleaning.

THE book that has been getting plenty of mentions this year is Marie Kondo’s ” The Life Changing Magic of Tidying”. In this book, Marie talks about only keeping things that ‘bring you joy’. This includes books, clothes and furniture. The secret to this tidying up method is to hold the object in your hands. Since reading this book months ago, I have been slowly chipping away in my wardrobe which is the main area where I tend to hoard and keep pieces of clothing despite not wearing them for years “just incase”. It also reminded me to try and live clutter-free, which is something I have my sights on. I have also been going through my shelves and have thrown out (recycled) some old school reports (that was time from another universe!), am planning on donating some old books that don’t bring me joy and never really have and getting rid of paper.

image

If this sounds like you, MAYBE this is the time to set aside 1 day or 1/2 a day and to go through your things and either donate, sell, recycle or throw out some of things that don’t bring you joy.

Check out my tag ‘consumerism’ if you would to read abit more about this topic from my blog.

Happy cleaning!

-S.

Tags: , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Blogmas Day 9! 🎄 | Sprinkle of Happy - December 9, 2015

Leave a Reply

