Barcelona!!

image

Barcelona. Wow is the one word that sums it up for me. I don’t know about you but when other people get excited about a town and tell me about it, I’m excited for them and with them but don’t have the feeling for the town because, obviously I haven’t been there. Let me tell you about it! The public transport system is easy to navigate and there are nice tourist day passes or 10-trip cards that make buying tickets so much easier. A metro every 3 minutes? Yes please!

image

Of course, if you’re in Barcelona, a MUST SEE (clichéd “must sees” but really, it’s a must see) is the Sagrada Familia. Designed by Gaudi and even though currently still under construction, this towering cathedral will leave you gobsmacked. I expected it to be big but in person, it’s enormous. And fascinatingly, the yet to be built tallest tower is going to be even taller than the existing ones. I paid for the audio guide and also to go up the nativity tower but I think if you don’t want to go up the tower, you’re not missing out on much except city views. I’m not sure why but I was expecting great interior architecture inside the tower….obviously I do not study architecture.

image

A quick metro ride away is Barcelona beach. Well, it’s a strip of beaches but they’re each called different names. Fun fact that I learnt, the beaches are man-made and the sand has been shipped from Egypt. The water is really nice and if it’s not windy, would be such a nice day outside!

image

During my few days (too short!) in Barcelona, the annual La Merce festival was on. There were many events happening around the city and one that I did catch was the Correfoc or ‘fire run’. People dressed as devils with fireworks were going through the streets dancing to different rhythmic drumming groups (set course not running through every street) and was suppose to turn this part of the city into hell for the duration of the event. What an event! I didn’t take part as I wasn’t well dressed (you get small holes in your clothes) but from observing everyone who did, they seemed to be having a great time. It was great to see because an event like this in Australia would not exist due to how “dangerous” this event would be classified as.

image

There are plenty of tours around as well to see the city and surrounding mountains. On this trip I look a free walking tour and a Gaudi tour. These modernists buildings are hidden around the city and some even on small streets that you may not even find! Modernism is just a part of Barcelona.

image

One of my favourite parts of this city was La Boqueria market on the Rambla. Fresh fruit and vegetables, seafood, meat, cheese and ready to go fruit containers (my favourite) are what this market is about. The fresh fruit containers and fresh fruit juices seemed to be very popular. I found the prices here cheaper than the supermarket and more fresh so definitely put it on your list.

I didn’t expect to like Barcelona this much but everyone was very friendly and even though it was quite touristy, I got the sense that the Catalans pride themselves in their city and what they can offer. Let us now get into a discussion about Spain and Barcelona. It’s such a liveable city that once was not, so it was great to see what a bustling city it is now.

Have you visited Barcelona? What do you think about it? Let me know in the comments!

-S.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Barcelona!!”

  1. Becky | Been There, Seen That, Got the Postcard says :

    Before I visited Barcelona I wasn’t expecting to love it at all, but it’s my favourite city I’ve visited so far! I absolutely love Sagrada Familia and La Boqueria – I love it so much I want to move there!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A letter from Sophie | Sprinkle of Happy - January 28, 2016
  2. Express Barcelona | Sprinkle of Happy - February 12, 2016

Leave a Reply

