A letter from Sophie

Hey guys!

I hope you’re enjoying the travel blogs as I travel. There’s a first for everything! I thought I would update you so you can follow along and to explain why I went a week with no blog posts! I finished my travels in the Czech Republic and continued on by bus into the Austrian alps. The hills are definitely alive. On my first day there, it was boiling hot and I decided to go for a dip in Hallstat lake where alot of people were already frolicking in the water. At night, I noticed that I had the nice company of some mosquitoes.

The next day when I woke up, low and behold, my legs and 1 arm were covered in (what I thought were mosquito) bites. I normally have an allergic reaction to mosquito bites but over the next day or so, they became more and more red and the accommodation owner gave me the details of the town doctor so that I could get something to put on these bites.

image

The doctor said that the bites were more likely from lake bugs (something related to the parasites from swans and ducks that live in the lake) and gave me some anti-histamines as well as antiseptic spray and cream to put on my bites. I cut my stay short in Obertraun and left for Vienna earlier than I had planned because there were still mosquitoes around and in my room.

It’s been a week since I woke up covered and I am still nursing my bites! They look to be getting better but I’m ready to be bite free. That was my first overseas doctor visit ever as well and I was worried I would have to pay an arm and a leg for it but it was ok. Hopefully there will be no more doctor visits on my trip.

-S.

Tags: , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obertraun/Hallstat | Sprinkle of Happy - September 6, 2015

Leave a Reply

